My First Book Review:

Ok, the other day I was talking to a good friend and fellow avid reader.  Of course we were talking about books we were currently reading and books we had just read.  She strongly urged me to blog on these books, especially since two of them were fairly new books and they weren’t my usual historical fiction (which most of my friends call “your little house on the prairie books”.  Can’t help it, I like historical fiction.)  After looking online for an outline of what to say in the review, I am ready for my premier review……

One Perfect Day by Lauraine Snelling

Laurraine Snelling
Laurraine Snelling

As Christmas Eve quickly approaches, one mother waits anxiously for her husband to return from an overseas business trip, so they can celebrate their last Christmas together before the twins head off to college.

“Two mothers end up more closely connected that they could dream…and yet they are strangers.

However, the other mother barely notices the Christmas festivities since her daughter is waiting desperately for a new heart and prays for a miracle. God’s miracles are sometimes bittersweet.”

 

My Thoughts:

First, I have to admit that Lauraine Snelling is one of my favorite authors.  She writes Christian Fiction and I think I have read every book she has written as it comes out.   Having said that, I enjoyed the dual storyline in this book.  As Nora deals with death, and Jenna celebrates life,  Lorraine flipped back and forth between the two mothers to give their perspective of the events as they were happening. 

Both mothers at the beginning of the book had the desire for a perfect Christmas for their children.  I could relate to this.  Christmas is such a joyful and special celebration, and to have one perfect Christmas to create the fond memories is every mother’s desire.  But an accident changes both of their plans; one in a good way, one in a bad way.

As the story unfolded, I was kept guessing on how the story would play out.  I like to guess the storyline as I read, sometimes I’m right and sometimes I’m wrong.  In this case, I was both, and neither.  This book was rather emotional. I laughed at the joy in the book and cried as it dealt with death and serious illness.  The issues of cremation vs burial and organ donation were discussed.  I have to admit I have rather strong opinion on both issues.  Although I did not agree with the decision of cremation vs burial made in the book, I think I understood the reasoning, I think.

As the book progresses, you are drawn into the process of a family mourning  and the tendrils death effects each family member.  As they cope differently, one being that Nora spirals deeply into depression.  Jenna starts out living day-to-day and slowly opens to the fact she can make plans for the future.  She comes to the realization that there is a promise of a future for her with her daughter and for herself personally.  I liked the mirror of two mothers and two young adult girls and each story line their individual reactions and emotions.

I would have like to see Nora’s reaction to the letter at the end of the book.  As a person that wants to know what happens next, I would have liked to see Nora and Jenna, and Christi and Heather meet or make contact with one another.  Leaving that door open does leave it open for another book.